Mind Your Own Business Series: Tiara Young, Model and face of Charlotte Tilbury (@CTilburyMakeup) and a review of the Light Wonder Foundation in shade 10

Earlier this year I was extremely excited to see that US born model, Tiara Young, who currently resides here in the UK, was revealed as one of the faces of the eponymous Charlotte Tilbury brand! I have featured Tiara on my blog in the past when she graced the cover of Stylist Magazine in July 2012.

stylistmagazine
Image source

Charlotte, a world famous, British make up artist, launched her make up and skincare collection just over a year ago to much acclaim.
makeup_artist_-_Charlotte-Tilbury-official_headshot_496_496_90
Image Source.

Charlotte is feted for the high octane, glamorous looks she creates and this influence can be clearly seen in the development of the range. Opulent packaging, exquisite formulations and high performing skincare products are the hallmarks of the brand and it has garnered a swathe of fans since the launch.

charlotte-tilbury-cosmetics-line
Image Source

When the brand did launch however, fellow blogger Lynda, author of the wonderful lifestyle blog Wonderlusting, reviewed the products and made mention of her only disappointment – that there were no shades for darker skin tones in the foundation offering.

Lynda tweeted Charlotte about this and she graciously responded. [Note to brands: please, please, PLEASE acknowledge our genuine grievances about product availability! Charlotte Tilbury was not only quick to respond, but was honest and showed her gratitude for the feedback].

screen-shot-2013-09-07-at-01-05-33
Image Source

True to her word, Charlotte Tilbury did launch two darker shades to join the Light Wonder Youth-Boosting, Skin Perfecting Foundation SPF 15 and Tiara was announced as the face sometime after this! I really commend Charlotte Tilbury and her team for acting on this so speedily!

NEW_-Filmstars-On-The-Go-Page
Image Source

I was keen to try the foundation and I was sent the darkest shade (shade 10) along with the Air Brush Flawless Finish in Skin Perfecting Micro-Powder in Dark.

Screenshot_2014-10-04-22-06-48-1

Screenshot_2014-10-04-22-08-12-1

When I swatched the foundation, I initially wasn’t convinced that the colour would be suitable, it looks very light on the hand, but once I applied it to my face (with a touch of MAC concealer in NW45 underneath) I was converted! The formula is rich and creamy and builds up to provide a full but not overly visible coverage.

The foundation adapted to my skin tone and was actually a much better match than other darker foundations I have used in the past, as my neck and chest area is much lighter than my hands and the colour disparity is minimised.

#FOTD using Wonder Light by Charlotte Tilbury

#FOTD using Wonder Light by Charlotte Tilbury

The foundation is long lasting and used in conjunction with the powder, the staying power is pretty impressive…and of course, the packaging is DIVINE!!

Screenshot_2014-10-04-22-07-53-1

More about Tiara!

I asked Tiara a few questions with regards to her motivations, her appointment by the Charlotte Tilbury brand and her life as an international model!

Question 1: When did start modelling? Were you scouted?

I began modelling when I was 17 years old. I sent pictures to Shameer Khan (model scout/photographer) whilst I was still in high school. He liked me, I flew to NYC…and the rest is history!

Question 2: What has been the most memorable job/the most challenging situation in your career to date?

The most memorable job so far has to be my Harper’s Bazaar cover. It has opened so many doors for me.

117921-800w
Image Source

My career is still pretty fresh, so I haven’t yet experienced anything too challenging. Fingers crossed it stays that way!

Question 3. It was fantastic to see you front the Charlotte Tilbury campaign! How did the collaboration come about?

Thank you! I’m beyond happy to be a part of her brand and working with her was an honour. I was requested to meet Charlotte whilst I was in London working. I went to her home, she tried a few make up looks on me and the next week I was shooting with her!


Question 4: What are your favourite Charlotte Tilbury products?

My favourite products have to be The Retoucher, Full Fat Lash 5 Star Mascara and the eyeshadows are to die for!

10899029273_0b28bd8a86_c
Image source

Question 5: What 3 tips would you give to those who aspire to follow in your footsteps?

I feel there isn’t really a linear ‘guide’ to become a model. I took a chance and sent pictures to Shameer Khan and it all worked out for me. If you have what it takes and it’s something you really want to do, go for it!

11 comments for “Mind Your Own Business Series: Tiara Young, Model and face of Charlotte Tilbury (@CTilburyMakeup) and a review of the Light Wonder Foundation in shade 10

  1. October 7, 2014 at 2:03 pm

    Tiara is so beautiful! And I love Charlotte Tilbury and that online they show swatches on different skin tones x

    Jasmine // Magpie Jasmine // My Blog Giveaway

    • October 9, 2014 at 10:49 pm

      Thanks for reading! Charlotte Tilbury has done a great job catering to all women of all skintones!

  2. October 10, 2014 at 1:04 pm

    Hallelujah! Thanks for including my tweet. Fantastic to see a brand like Charlotte Tilbury making smart business decisions by acknowledging and actioning customer feedback. Fantastic products for the widest customer base possible – women of all skin tones are interested in luxury beauty. Great job Charlotte Tilbury!

  3. Nikky
    October 12, 2014 at 7:32 pm

    Great read! I really want to try the foundation but worried that it wont provide sufficient coverage. What do you think please?

    • October 13, 2014 at 8:06 am

      Hi Nikky, Thanks for reading! You will certainly get a good coverage! Do find a counter to get colour matched!

  4. November 14, 2014 at 1:02 am

    I was at CT today and didn’t see these two darker shades. 🙁 I was tempted to get the retoucher though, not least because of the gorgeous packaging.

Leave a Reply